Higher Institute of Agronomy


The Ecole Supérieure d’Agronomie (Higher Institute of Agronomy) (ESA) is an institution of Université de Lomé. It was created by decree N ° 72-181 / PR of September 5, 1972. Its mission is to train middle and versatile executives, in particular agricultural engineers (High school diploma level + 3 years) and agricultural design engineers (High school diploma level + 5 years) in three options, namely agroeconomics, crop production and livestock production. ESA supports agricultural innovation through research and development.

ESA has five (5) departments:

  • Department of Economics and Sociology
  • Department of Agricultural Machinery
  • Department of Phytotechnology
  • Department of Animal and Veterinary Sciences
  • Department of Soil Science 

The ESA administration structure is composed of:

  • Institute Assembly
  • Direction
  • College of Heads of Department
  • Scientific and Teaching Committee
  • Examination Unit
  • Pedagogical Information Unit (CIP)
  • Finance and Budget Committee
  • Internal Quality Assurance Unit
  • Internship Service.

ESA offers courses in the field of Agricultural Science (SA) to the Licence and Master’s degrees.
The three ESA-grade qualifications are:
  • Licence SA, Major : Agroeconomy;
  • Licence SA, Major : Phytotechnology;
  • Licence SA, Major: Animal and Veterinary Sciences.
At the Master’s level, the incomings are as follows:
  • Research Master (High school diploma level + 5 years) in Agricultural economics with three majors:
§ Farm business management;
§ Marketing;
§ Environmental and natural resource management.
  • Master of Science in Agro-Resources and Environmental Engineering
  • Professional Master (Bac + 5) in Bio engineer with three specialties:
§ Integrated agronomy;
§ Animal science and production;
§ Rural development.
These offers of training are offered according to the needs of the labor market.

ESA graduates of Licence and Master's degrees are usually recruited by public and private administrations in the sectors of agriculture, environment, education and research, consultancy firms, NGOs and Institutions.

• Management team

  1. Director: Mianikpo Sogbedji, Associate Professor of Soil Science and Agronomy; mianikpo@yahoo.com / jsogbedji@ifdc.org 
  2. Deputy Director: Amen Y. Nenonene, Associate Professor of Agro-resources Science; amen.nenonene@gmail.com 

• Administration of departments

  1. Head of Department of Economics and Rural Sociology, Abbévi Georges Abbey, Assistant Professor; george_abbey2@yahoo.fr / gabbey@univ.lome.tg 
  2. Head of Soil Science Department, Kokou A. Amouzouvi, Instructor; kamouzouvi@tg.refer.org / kamouzouvi@yahoo.fr 
  3. Head of the Phytotechnology Department, Mawuli Aziadekey, Associate Professor; guido_aziadek@yahoo.com 
  4. Head of Department of Agricultural Machinism, Toyi Mouzou, Assistant Professor; toyimouzou@yahoo.fr 
  5. Head of Animal and Veterinary Sciences Department, Abalo Kulo, Associate Professor; kulomathias@yahoo.fr 
  6. Course supervisor, Gbénonchi Mawussi, Associate Professor; gmawussi@gmail.com 

ESA maintains good partnership relations with public and private administrations, notably the Ministry of Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries, the World Bank and UEMOA.
01 BP 1515 Lomé 01-TOGO
Telephone (s): (+228) 22 25 41 97/22 45 68 13
Fax: (+228) 22 21 85 95